Three Belgian Blues make initial selection

Eden Hazard, Thibaut Courtois and Michy Batshuayi have been named in a provisional 28-man Belgian squad for this summer’s World Cup.

Roberto Martinez has chosen the Chelsea trio in his initial selection for Russia 2018. He will trim it down to a final group of 23 on June 4.

As expected Hazard, the Red Devils’ captain, and their first-choice keeper, Courtois, are in, while Batshuayi, a regular in qualifying, will hope to make the final cut as he continues his recovery from an ankle injury sustained on loan at Borussia Dortmund.

Belgium are in a group with England, Tunisia and Panama and kick off their campaign against the Central Americans on 18 June.

The full 28-man squad is shown below: