Ladies receive a host of award nominations

Chelsea Ladies dominate the shortlist for the PFA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year award, with five of our players nominated for the prestigious honour.

Ramona Bachmann, Millie Bright, Fran Kirby, Maren Mjelde and Ji So-Yun have been selected by their peers among the best six players in the country, with Jill Scott of Man City Women the only player outside of Chelsea Ladies in consideration for the award.

The Blues also have Erin Cuthbert in the running for PFA Women's Young Player of the Year. The winners of both awards will be revealed at a ceremony held in London on Sunday 22 April following the first leg of our Women’s Champions League semi-final against Wolfsburg.

‘What an honour for the club,’ said manager Emma Hayes. We’re proud of all our nominees and there could easily have been more names on both lists.

‘It’s phenomenal to see so many of our players recognised and it’s great for me, as a coach, because it shows both recruitment and development is moving along the right path.’

The PFA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year award was introduced in 2013, with the inaugural trophy going to Arsenal’s Kim Little, and Ji will be looking to become the second two-time winner of the honour after Lucy Bronze, having previously been triumphant three years ago.